Tags

, , , , , , ,

The final week of NaHaiWriMo has us writing haiku throughout the house. Here are the prompts:  Living Room, Bedroom, Bathroom, Dining Room, Closet, Garage (is that really a room in the house?) and Kitchen. Challenging prompts. They made me think a bit more about how I construct haiku, and took me further out of my haiku box.

Here they are – prompt, followed by haiku:

~

Living Room

live here, Live
where the elephant walks ~
see with new eyes

~

Bedroom

physical imprints
from a mind out of time ~
dream echoes

~

Bathroom

evening ablution
candlelit effervescence
chaos deferred

~

Dining Room

cafe tierra
dawn in a demitasse cup
brewed awakening

~

Closet

her laughing threat ~
“I will haunt your closet!”
These shoes must go.

~

Garage

the band plays
tribute to the bard
timeless poem

~

Kitchen

chopping, slicing, laughing
wafting smells of soup and bread
love offering

~~~

The last day of February, the last day of National Haiku Writing Month. Apart from my first week, I managed to use all the prompts. Some things I learned this month:

  • Writing from a verbal prompt is more challenging for me than using a photo prompt, à la Ku on This.
  • All prompts – verbal or photo – are more difficult to work with than no prompts.
  • My usual haiku inspiration comes from nature, which is why the second week was the easiest for me.
  • Working with unusual prompts is good for expanding my creative bandwidth.
  • I like color.  The third week – in which the haiku came out of a color prompt – was fun.  I might come back and play with that concept some more, maybe expanding more with haiga or etagami.
  • I don’t like writing about food, and haiku about living spaces are challenging.
  • I have the ability to write some bad haiku!  😉

NaHaiWriMo ends with the close of February, however their facebook page will continue to provide a daily prompt.  Head on over there if you want to play.  I will not be participating daily, but I might grab a prompt from them every once in a while just to see where it leads.

How about you?  If you participated in NaHaiWriMo – what was your experience?

