Tags

, , , , , , ,

For week one of NaHaiWriMo, the prompts were all food words: pasta, eggs, cheese, spice, vegetable, rice, and milk.  Sadly, I was not inspired in the least by these prompts. In fact, I had an odd visceral ‘yuk’ response to all the words except spice. Yuk factors tend to interfere with creativity.  I did give it a go, but the harder I tried the worse my haiku became.

I don’t blame the prompts – after all, many people wrote amazing haiku and took these prompts in some really fun directions (see the blogs listed below for good haiku reading) so I will just ‘fess up to my general poetic malaise this week.

Excuses aside, here are a few off-prompt (and completely unrelated) haiku to keep me on track for February.  (One must be willing to accept the mediocre along with the good, yes?)

~

Frost, like fairy dust,
sparkles through the meadow ~
Jack puts away his brush.

~

Waking ~
the aha moment
like laughter

~

dog snouts explore
a sunny patch of clover ~
sniffing for spring

~

mandarin orange sky
dissolves into white clouds ~
sailor foresees snow

~

blackbirds gather,
white crane in their midst ~
a charcoal sketch

~

Crescent moon
in a half lit sky ~
hang your hat here

~

an accidental delete
no restore option ~
the ephemeral nature of haiku.

~

