Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Do you work too hard?  Think there is not enough time?  Feel like life is too stressful?  Do you wonder how you can carry this load on your shoulders much longer?  You need a paradigm shift.

Wow, that sounded like a sales pitch, eh?  Well, I guess it kind of is. But it is a sales pitch that comes from knowing how important it is that we take care of ourselves if we are going to take care of others; how important it is to renew our energy if we want to be more creative, or more productive, or to handle high levels of stress. As human beings, we are “designed to pulse” in the words of Tony Schwartz;  to operate rhythmically, to rest and renew ourselves on a regular basis.

I have been in the health care field for over 20 years.  I have worked in physical rehab, I have worked as a fitness trainer, a massage therapist, and a yoga teacher.  The number one thing that people have asked me over the years is this: how do I handle this stress?

In this video that I am about to share with you, Tony Schwartz says in 30 minutes what I have tried to convey to people over the years:  you need to understand your internal rhythms, and you need to learn how to manage your energy.

Jess Smart Smiley shared this video on his blog, and I am going to give you the link to watch it there.  This is really one of the best talks I have heard in a long time. I think that every creative person (and that includes you: all humans ARE creative beings) should watch this video.

The video is a little over 30 minutes. Honestly, if you are right now saying that you don’t have the 30 minutes to watch it, then it probably is even more important that you do.

Here’s what I suggest:  turn off your cell phone and email (they will still be there when you are done), grab a cup of tea or an espresso, settle back and give this video your full attention. You will thank yourself later.

And a big thank you to Jess for sharing this!  Click the following link to watch the video:

Myths of the Overworked Creative

Enjoy!

