Tags

, , , , ,

Be kind, for everyone we meet is traveling a hard path.  That’s life.  Even when life is joyous it can be oh so hard, and even when it is hard we can find joy.  We need each other, and we need each other to be kind, to share a laugh, to make the journey light.

Today, unexpectedly and with precision, I was reminded of this scripture:

Love is patient, love is kind.
It is not jealous, it is not pompous,
it is not inflated,
it is not rude,
it does not seek its own interests,
it is not quick-tempered,
it does not brood over injury,
it does not rejoice over wrongdoing
but rejoices with the truth.
It bears all things, believes all things,
hopes all things, endures all things.
Love never fails.

— 1 Corinthians 13: 4-8

I grew up with those words, and I know most people have at least heard them at some point in their lives.  But have any of us really HEARD them?  This morning, these words jumped in to my reality, and I read them.  Then I read them again.  I paused and listened, deeply, and then I read them again.

Maybe, regardless of our respective brands of religion, there is something here for us to really know. Something maybe that we can awaken, and put in to practice.

Today, may I be patient, may I be kind.  May I remember the power of love.

May your path today be filled with love and joy.  Namaste.

Be Kind

